Art

When Art Speaks: Illuminata by Katrina Pallon

From time to time, I like to immerse myself by visiting museum’s or attending art exhibits which I just did A few days ago. My mom invited me to her second art exhibit that she is currently curating at the Pavilion, LRI Design Plaza. Let me share with you a captivating art exhibit entitled Illuminata by Katrina Pallon.

Illuminata by Kat Pallon
Illuminata by Kat Pallon

Exhibit is ongoing until August 20
Exhibit is ongoing until August 20
Opening Introduction led by Amanda Navasero, with Katrina Pallon, Mandy Navasero and one of the special guests
Opening Introduction led by Amanda Navasero, with Katrina Pallon, Mandy Navasero and one of the special guests
Ribbon Cutting
Ribbon Cutting

I can honestly say that I loved Katrina’s artistic peg. It has an Asian vibe that’s very mysterious and has a modern feel. Her art shows a strong emotion and stories of different women in mourning [or sadness] that she could have possibly met during her travels or maybe her own? I do not know. Encompassing each women are lanterns, vibrant flowers, skulls and birds [flamingo and peacock].

The pavilion was decorated in charcoal black backdrop, surrounded with Asian lanterns which the artist bought in Vietnam. Set design was by her friend Jethro.

IMG_6299

IMG_6301

My favorite among her 12 artworks would definitely be the ‘Nine Lives’ (the long haired lady holding a cat). During my conversation with the artist, I learned that she is a cat lover herself. She used to have 12 cats, YES 12 CATS! Unfortunately, only one remained.

More on Katrina Pallon:

Katrina Pallon is a Magna cum Laude graduate of Fine Arts in the University of the Philippines, a budding artist and has a rock band of her own. Illuminata is her third solo exhibit and I can say it was a success, as she has 5 paintings sold already. 

If you would like to view her artworks, you may visit LRI Art Pavilion, LRI Design Plaza, 210 Nicanor Garcia St., Bel Air II, Makati City or call 896-3208

* Other photos during the exhibit

Alcoholic drinks were served
Alcoholic drinks were served
With the host, her best friend Patricia Dabu and my brother Kert
With the host, her best friend Patricia Dabu and my brother Kert
with mom and Tita Dynah
with mom, Tita Dynah and yours truly
Leave a Reply

