Parenting

Mommy diaries: Separation Anxieties

There is a saying that the phrase “working mom” is redundant. Because all mothers are working mothers. While that stands true, I think between a stay-at-home mom and mom’s who keeps a 9 to 5 job? They have it harder.Separation anxieties.

There are different phases a child goes through, and the first few years are the hardest for us parents. As a child, I remember wanting to be with my mom all the time. But because of work, we were always left in the care of our yaya’s. In my “creative” way, I thought maybe stacking up Lego’s in our staircase would help prevent my mom from leaving the house. Of course I didn’t succeed. Hilarious if you come to think of it.

I haven’t thought about the situation for a while until today. I’m thankful that despite how well-loved my daughter is from both our families, she loves her daddy and mommy much more.

It was heartbreaking to see my daughter, tears falling, reaching out her hand as her yaya closes the gate. Now I know how it feels. It will only get worse as she gets older, say until she’s 5 years old? I can’t tell.

But until she has a better grasp of understanding, it is our responsibility to assure her, that mommy and daddy will be gone for only a while. That we would always come running home to see our bundle of joy.

Always.

 

 

Leave a Reply

